Joëlle Léandre, Urs Leimgruber, Fred Frith, Alvin Curran.

17€ Single CD

Ref ROG-0063

Add to cart


Joëlle Léandre
: double bass
Fred Frith: electric guitar
Alvin Curran: piano, synthesizer, samples
Urs Leimgruber: tenor and soprano saxophone

This is powerful music, even dangerous. Not just because of this quartet’s name - MillsMusicMafia (aka MMM) - which offers some irreverent tendencies among its musicians. It is dangerous because of its suggestive power on us, a power that transcends the music, forming it into a deep spiritual experience one that may motivate us to kick out habits, beliefs, even regimens. Eyal Hareuveni, excerpt from the liner notes

All compositions by Joëlle Léandre, Fred Frith, Alvin Curran, Urs Leimgruber

Recorded live on August 8th 2014 by João-Paulo Nogueira at Jazz em Agosto, Lisbon, Portugal
Mixing and mastering: Jean-Marc Foussat
Liner notes: Eyal Hareuveni
Photographs: RogueArt
Cover design: Max Schoendorff
Cover realization: David Bourguignon
Producer: Michel Dorbon

Track list
  1. Belem (15:36)
  2. Millsmont (12:35)
    Listen an excerpt
  3. Bario Alto (3:51)
  4. Maxwell Park (13:17)
  5. Alfama (7:45)
    Listen an excerpt