Roscoe Mitchell, Thomas Buckner, Nils Bultmann, Joseph Kubera, Vartan Manoogian, Stephen Rush, William Winant, Joan Wildman, Hans Sturm.

17€ Single CD


Add to cart


Roscoe Mitchell: composition, alto saxophone
Thomas Buckner: baritone
Nils Bultmann: viola
Joseph Kubera: piano
Vartan Manoogian: violin
Stephen Rush: piano
Hans Sturm: double bass
Joan Wildman: piano
William Winant: tubular bells, orchestra bells, vibraphone

In the 45 years since he recorded Sound, Roscoe Mitchell’s music has steadily evolved and diversified, making the idea of a comprehensive one-disc survey an impossibility. However, as much as any album, the both/and nature of Roscoe Mitchell’s music is vividly represented on Numbers. Bill Shoemaker, excerpts from the liner notes

All compositions by Roscoe Mitchell

Poems “because it’s”, “this” and “dim” are by e.e. cummings

1, 7 and 13 recorded on March 27th 2010, 8 on January 10th 2010 and 12 on August 8th 2010 at Mills College, Oakland, CA, USA; recording and mixing by Robert Shumaker assisted by James Frazier
2, 4, 5 & 6 recorded on February 13th 2003 at Systems Two, Brooklyn, NY, USA: recording and mixing by Tom Hamilton
3 recorded on August 16th 2002 at Audio for the Arts, Madison, WI, USA; recording and mixing by Buzz Kemper
9, 10 & 11 recorded on February 10th 2010 at the Audio Studio, Duderstadt Center, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA; recording by Jason Corey
Liner notes: Bill Shoemaker
Photographs: Jacques Bisceglia
Cover design: Max Schoendorff
Cover realization: David Bourguignon, URDLA
Producer: Michel Dorbon

Track list
  1. Bells for New Orleans (prelude) (1:33)
    Listen an excerpt
  2. 9/9/99 (10:33)
  3. Sketches (6:36)
  4. because it's (2:14)
  5. this (4:30)
  6. dim (5:47)
  7. Bells for New Orleans (5:01)
  8. WR/C 2A Opus I (9:49)
    Listen an excerpt
  9. 8/8/88 1st Movement (4:24)
  10. 8/8/88 2nd Movement (1:50)
  11. 8/8/88 3rd Movement (3:33)
  12. 9/9/09 (7:09)
  13. Bells for New Orleans (postlude) (2:11)