Roscoe Mitchell, Corey Wilkes, Craig Taborn, Jaribu Shahid, Tani Tabbal.

17€ Single CD

Ref ROG-0003

Add to cart


Roscoe Mitchell: soprano, alto, tenor & bass saxophones, flûte, piccolo, percussion
Corey Wilkes:
trumpet, flugelhorn, small percussion
Craig Taborn: piano
Jaribu Shahid: double bass, electric bass, small percussion
Tani Tabbal: drum set, percussion

All compositions by Roscoe Mitchell

It's been many years since the multi-facetted art of Roscoe Mitchell overwhelm us, whether with the Art Ensemble of Chicago, or his Note Factory, or his solo performances or so many projects with so many giants. However, we know that Roscoe Mitchell still has much to say. Incredible as it may seems, this here quintet generously offers yet another dimension of his music. The first striking thing in "Turn" is how Mitchell perfectly controls such an elaborate speech while, rich as may be the written parts, they never hamper the freedom to ad lib. And that's why each new listening at "Turn", each of Turn's turns (and there are many), bring new emotions and wonderful surprises. Roscoe Mitchell unquestionably is the architect of this refined musical building called "Turn"; however, without such great musicians as Corey Wilkes, Craig Taborn, Jaribu Shahid and Tani Tabal, the other members of the quintet, we wouldn't have entered it so easily. For all these reasons, we dare say "Turn" is a masterpiece. And we do mean masterpiece!

Recorded January 4th to 6th 2005 by Steve Gotcher & Buzz Kemper at Audio for the Arts (Madison, Wi, USA)
Mixing: Steve Gotcher & Buzz Kemper
Mastering: Tom Blain
Liner notes: Steve Dalachinsky and Alexandre Pierrepont
Photographs: Joseph Blough
Producer: Michel Dorbon

Track list
  1. Quintet One (3.24)
  2. For Cynthia (5.23)
  3. Quintet Nine (5.21)
  4. For Now (3.58)
  5. Horner Mac (1.34)
  6. Rhine Ridge (1.24)
  7. Page Two A (6.19)
  8. March 2004 (3.44)
  9. In Six (4.44)
    Listen an excerpt
  10. Turn (3.39)
  11. Take One (8.42)
  12. Page One (3.47)
  13. That's Finished (3.58)
  14. After (7.10)