Hélène Breschand
Joshua Abrams
Bruce Ackley
Steve Adams
Jason Adasiewicz
Jeff Albert
Dee Alexander
Gordon Allen
Marshall Allen
Scott Amendola
Fred Anderson
an_ARCHE NewMusic Ensemble
David Arner
Jean-Jacques Avenel
Renée Baker
Jim Baker
Harrison Bankhead
Lewis Barnes
Matt Bauder
Richie Beirach
John Betsch
Jacques Bisceglia
Jeb Bishop
Michael Bisio
Mwata Bowden
David Boykin
Anthony Braxton
Rob Brown
Chris Brown
Thomas Buckner
Nils Bultmann
Dave Burrell
Taylor Ho Bynum
Jean-Luc Cappozzo
César Carcopino
Daniel Carter
Gerald Cleaver
Nels Cline
Martha Colby
Leena Conquest
Jacques Coursil
Marilyn Crispell
Connie Crothers
Alvin Curran
Kamau Daaood
Steve Dalachinsky
Lowell Davidson
Vincent Davis
Ernest Dawkins
Benoît Delbecq
Michael Dessen
Alex Dézé
Jacques Di Donato
Whit Dickey
Hamid Drake
Kevin Drumm
Benjamin Duboc
Marc Ducret
Michel Edelin
Warren Ellis
Marco Eneidi
Marcus Evans
Orrin Evans
Malachi Favors
James Fei
Xu Fengxia
Alvin Fielder
Scott Fields
Denis Fournier
Lori Freedman
Fred Frith
Satoko Fujii
Tomas Fujiwara
Eddie Gale
Lionel Garcin
Joe Giardullo
Peter Giron
Malcolm Goldstein
Stéphane Gombert
Simon Goubert
Guilherme Granado
Luther Gray
Robert Griffin
Mary Halvorson
Ed Hazell
John Hébert
Sylvaine Hélary
John Herndon
Rosie Hertlein
Anna Homler
François Houle
HPRIZM/High Priest
Nicolas Humbert
Raphaël Imbert
Ludivine Issambourg
Kidd Jordan
Sylvain Kassap
Julia Kent
Carla Kihlstedt
Peter Kowald
Joseph Kubera
Mike Ladd
Marguerite Ladd
Oliver Lake
Steve Lantner
Yusef Lateef
Denis Lavant
Joëlle Léandre
Peggy Lee
Steve Lehman
Thomas Lehn
Urs Leimgruber
Lorna Lentini
Didier Levallet
Daniel Levin
George Lewis
Dave Liebman
Damon Locks
Ramon Lopez
Matthew Lux
Napoleon Maddox
Mat Maneri
Vartan Manoogian
Miya Masaoka
Sabir Mateen
Rob Mazurek
Joe McPhee
Franck Médioni
Myra Melford
Brian Melick
Dom Minasi
Nicole Mitchell
Roscoe Mitchell
John Moloney
Jemeel Moondoc
Gene Moore
Thurston Moore
AnaÏs Moreau
Ikue Mori
Joe Morris
Lawrence D. "Butch" Morris
David Murray
Bill Nace
Mankwe Ndosi
Nicole Mitchell's Black Earth Ensemble
Larry Ochs
Aruán Ortiz
Marc Parisotto
William Parker
Jeff Parker
Evan Parker
Andrea Parkins
Jessica Pavone
Didier Petit
Laurence Petit-Jouvet
Barre Phillips
Alexandre Pierrepont
Oscar Pierrepont
Michel Portal
David Prentice
Hal Rammel
John Raskin
Lucia Recio
Mike Reed
Tomeka Reid
Eric Revis
Matana Roberts
Donald Robinson
Christian Rollet
Frank Rosaly
Rich Rosenthal
Rova Saxophone Quartet
Stephen Rush
Bernard Santacruz
Jenny Scheinman
Jeff Schlanger
Matthias Schubert
Jaribu Shahid
Matthew Shipp
Michael Snow
Tyshawn Sorey
Hans Sturm
Steve Swell
Mazz Swift
Tani Tabbal
Craig Taborn
Mauricio Takara
Natsuki Tamura
Hanah Jon Taylor
Chad Taylor
Claude Tchamitchian
John Tchicai
Dylan van der Schyff
Nasheet Waits
Greg Ward
David Wessel
Joan Wildman
Corey Wilkes
William Winant
Shiau-Shu Yu
Michael Zerang

Miya Masaoka



Musician, Composer, Koto, Electronics

Miya Masaoka resides in New York City and is a classically trained musician, composer and sound/installation artist. She has created works for solo koto, laser interfaces, laptop and video, sculpture installations and written scores for ensembles, chamber orchestra and mixed choirs. She has a large body of work for solo koto, live electronics and video. She often works with the sonification of data, and maps the behavior of brain activity, plants and insect movement to sound.

Her work has been performed throughout the world including the Venice Biennale 2004, the Miller Theater, NYC, V2 (Rotterdam), Ircam, (Paris), KunstRadio (Vienna ), Radio Breman (Germany), Yerba Buena Center for the Arts (San Francisco), Le Centrale (Canada), and festivals including Moers (Germany), Victoriaville (British Columbia), London Musicians’ Collective’s Festival of Experimental Music England), Other Minds Festival, Bang on a Can at Henry Street Settlement and the Santa Fe Electro-Acoustic Music Festival.
Sound installation exhibitions include Lincoln Center Out of Doors (Homemade Instrument Day), The Kitchen (The Cube with participating artists), 2006 Winter Olympics (Torino, Italy), Center for Art and Visual Culture at the University of Maryland (Blur of the Other Worldly), Issue Project Room, Brooklyn.

She has also has performed with leading improvisers and artists working in jazz and world traditions. Toshiko Akiyoshi wrote a piece for her entitled “Suite for Koto and Jazz Orchestra.” She has performed with Pharoah Sanders, Cecil Taylor’s large ensemble, toured and/or recorded with Steve Coleman, Pauline Oliveros, Andrew Cyrille, Reggie Workman, William Parker, Fred Frith, Larry Ochs, George Lewis, John Butcher, Peter Kowald, Gerry Hemingway, Samir Chatterjee, Zakir Hussein, Christian Wolff and Joan Jeanrenaud, formerly of Kronos Quartet. She has toured throughout India six times with Dr. L. Subramaniam. A Major influence on her musical and philosophical approach has evolved from studying with Gagaku master Suenobu Togi, for whom she formed and directed the San Francisco Gagaku society for eight years. She studied with Wayne Peterson and Eric Moe at San Francisco State University (Bachelor of Arts in Music), Alvin Curran and David Tudor at Mills College (Master of Arts in Composition, 1994) Commissions include Bang On a Can, Engine 27/Harvestworks, Gerbode Foundation, Wattis Fellowship, British Broadcasting Co. (BBC), Asian Art Foundation, Alonzo King and Lines Ballet. Other ensembles performing her work include Volti, Ensemble of the Piedmont Choirs, ROVA, San Francisco Choral Society; Awards include the Alpert Arts Award, the Mills Faculty Award in Composition (1994), ASCAP and The New Langton Arts Award. Residencies include Other Minds, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, Headlands Center for the Arts, Western Front (Vancouver), Jacob’s Pillow and STEIM (the Netherlands).

Miya Masaoka is currently a professor in the Music/Sound department at the Milton Avery School of the Arts MFA Program, Bard College, NY.